January 10, 2012



For More Information, contact:

Bud Bunce 503-233-8373


 Catholic Scouting Awards to be given

        On Sunday, January 29, 2012 Archbishop John G. Vlazny, Archbishop of Portland, and the Archdiocesan Catholic Committee on Scouting will present the Catholic Scouting Emblems to 94 young men and women from across Western Oregon and Clark County, Washington.  Scouts, family and friends will gather at St. Mary’s Cathedral in Portland for an afternoon Mass, and the annual presentation of the emblems. A reception will follow. 

        Scouting is and has been an integral part of the Catholic Church’s comprehensive youth ministry plan.  The Catholic religious emblem program has been part of the scout program for more than 85 years.  Young men and women and the scout units are sponsored by parishes, Catholic Schools and many Knights of Columbus Councils.  “The Catholic Scouting Religious Emblem Program integrates family, faith and community with study, skills and fun,” said Deacon Thomas Gornick, Archdiocesan Scout Chaplain.  He continued “Scout leaders, working with families in our parishes, focus on the whole life of the youth supporting their development into faithful Catholics and citizens. The religious emblem program is designed to deepen the faith experience of each scout and their family.”

        Each scout, over the past year, has worked to complete requirements that include faith enrichment, study and service to their parish, scout unit and community.  The Archbishop and Archdiocesan Catholic Committee on Scouting presents the following emblems to their scouts: 

        Tiger Cubs and Wolf Cubs up through the 2nd grade will be presented the Light of Christ award, and Cub Scouts who have completed the 2nd grade receive the Parvuli Dei.

Boy Scouts receive the Ad Altari Dei, and high school Boy Scouts, Explorer Scouts and Venture Scouts receive the Pius XII.  The Class of 2012 has a significant number of older youth receiving the Boy Scout Emblems.

 The National Federation of Catholic Youth Ministry offers Girl Scouts and Camp Fire Scouts the following awards:

The “Family of God” Medal is awarded to youth between the ages of 6 and 9

The “I Live My Faith” award is earned by youth between the ages of 9 -11, or between the 4th and 6th grade.

The “Spirit Alive” is awarded to Catholic youth in their high school years; and the “Marian” award is given to Catholic youth who have already received the “Spirit Alive” award.

 Pope Paul VI Unit Awards

        Archbishop Vlazny and the Archdiocese of Portland Catholic Committee on Scouting will recognize thirty nine cub scouts and eighteen adult leaders of Cub Scout Pack 136 with the Pope Paul VI National Catholic Quality Unit Award. The award will also be presented to the sixteen boy scouts and twelve adult leaders of Scout Troop 136.  Both scout units are chartered by Valley Catholic Elementary School in Beaverton, OR.  This is the second year that Cub Scout Pack 136 has earned the award, and the first year Scoot Troop 136.

         The Pope Paul VI National Catholic Quality Unit Award is given to a Scout Unit chartered by a Catholic Parish, Catholic School or the Knights of Columbus.  In addition, all registered adults have participated in scout training, the unit has conducted a service project for its church, parish, diocesan community or chartered organization with the past 12 months, and the unit participates in a religious activity in the parish and diocese. Both units’ most significant achievement, 25 percent of youth members have or are actively working on a Catholic Scout religious emblem. “The Paul VI Award recognizes the outstanding leadership and commitment to their faith and scout principles by all of the youth and adults of this Pack and Troop. In addition the awards points to the strong collaboration with Valley Catholic School” said Archdiocesan Scout Chaplain Deacon Thomas Gornick.

Adult Leadership Awards

         Archbishop Vlazny and the Archdiocesan Catholic Committee on Scouting will also honor five adult scout leaders for their service to Catholic youth as leaders in the scout program, the Catholic Scout Religious Emblems program and the Archdiocese Catholic Committee on Scouting. 

        The Bronze Pelican is awarded by the Archdiocesan Catholic Committee on Scouting to those outstanding adults who work in the Scouting Program under Catholic auspices, to serve Catholics in Scout Units not partnered by the Church, and to those who have made a significant contribution to scouting in the field of Catholic relationships. The pelican is an ancient symbol of the Church, a bird that is known for its willingness to sacrifice self for the good of their offspring.

             Those being awarded the Bronze Pelican Emblem are:



Bronze Pelican



Elizabeth Ann Seton Church



Bronze Pelican

Oregon City


St. John the Apostle Church



Bronze Pelican



Our Lady of Lourdes Church







            Two individuals will awarded the St. George Emblem.  This emblem is a national recognition presented by the Archdiocese in cooperation with the National Catholic Committee on Scouting to acknowledge an individual’s outstanding contribution to the spiritual development of Catholic youth in the program of the Boy Scouts of America. The emblem is named for St. George martyred in the year 303 and patron saint of scouts.

          Those being presented the St. George Emblem are:

 John J. Engelhardt – Our Lady of the Mountain Parish, Ashland, OR

 Scott A. West – Immaculate Conception Parish, Stayton, OR


 Return to Current News Releases